After a year of injuries, a small but lovely thing happened this week: I sat cross-legged for a possibility expanding  conversation. I find it’s a position that triggers positive thinking for me, but because of tearing the meniscus behind one knee and detracking the other knee cap last year (no, I’m not secretly an ice hockey player, who knew showers could be so dangerous!) that simple act has seemed so high risk I have avoided it. Then I was discussing animation  tricks and showing off my first attempt (it isn’t so great! but it means my intuition on how I can make a 5 minute film without drowning in tedium is spot on 😉 ) and I realised, I am sitting cross legged! Like my body just knew it would be ok and the high energy of creativity lifted me over the fear without me even noticing…and once I had noticed, I realised, yes, this is fine…

                                                                                                       And then two days later I felt really strongly to get out the art quilt I am making for the amazing chiropractor I see far too often! So last night I moved some boxes and unfolded my  freestyle embellished blocks and heard the rustle of the taffetas and felt the slippery softness of the silks and saw the dancing leaf reflected in a lake pattern and thought, yes, yes, time to finish this…because it’s simply so huge (3m x 2m) it has been too daunting to tackle – also some fear of ruining what I have already done, meaning 12 months work down the drain, no pressure there then 😉

So my aim is to finish it for his birthday in two weeks, or more realistically, in time for him and his lovely wife and baby girl to take over to Canada for Christmas. It’s for the house by a lake they are renovating, for a room where one wall is glass, overlooking the lake, so all the inspiration is about the play of light on water, the reflections of the changing seasons, the falling leaves…yes, all that shininess is just a pig to photograph, apologies for the high shine…the end quilting will be in variegated golds and blues so the reverse, a petrol blue taffeta (mmmm) will be subtle but interesting, while the top is an intuition led meditation in embellishment..btw, they do know not to expect anything too ordinary! 😉

ps if anyone knows how to get rid of dropdown coupon deals, please let me know in the comments, i hate that my blog is hosting advertising without my permission…

