My first film! Not perfect, but idea and props conceived in 20 minutes, 85 stills taken in 40mins, 90mins in picasa (editing suite) 20 mins to find the drop down menu in windows movie maker πŸ˜‰ then 60 mins in that, all on Sunday and then a bold step into the unknown today of loading to youtube…hush all you techno-dazzling peeps who do that without blinking, these are all firsts for me!

I’ve been saving foil trays and ice lolly sticks for a while now, and when I asked myself what to make the letters out of, they came straight to mind…I have such problems with shiny things in photographs spoiling the focus, it was very amusing to use that as a positive at last πŸ˜‰ If you enlarge to full screen, the words are easier to read…I may well add a voice over at some point.

To saunter nowadays is to walk at your leisure, but it was originally part of pilgrimage, to walk on the saunte terre / sacred earth. This need to recentre and pay attention to the bigger picture of which we are such small details is so common. It is also one of those questions containing its own answer. A ‘big’ life overloaded with possessions and duties and busy-ness can contain such emptiness… time is the new luxury for working people, and perhaps why they resent the unemployed requiring support so much. But ifΒ  everyone worked a maximum of a four day week, for a fair wage, the real economy would do so much better. Of course the credit and debt industries would struggle!( πŸ˜‰ my new clarion call! art and recreation and return to education for the unemployed b/ankers!)

Being in nature, even having a wild corner in your garden and choosing to watch it without interfering too much, can return such acceptance of the cycles of life…and without that struggle, such contentment becomes possible. This certainly works for me dealing with a huge loss of strength, energy and stamina, so I do seriously offer it as a strategy for returning to health.

I had such fun making this visual poem…it may yet get a soundtrack. Thanks to Ken for for telling me where windows movie maker was on my own computer! And Jazz who introduced me to Picasa a few years ago, and made photography so much more possible for me, it’s now one of my favourite things πŸ™‚

Some wise words on walking:

Agnes Martin: Walking seems to cover time and space but in reality we are always just where we started. I walk but in reality I am hand in hand with contentment on my own doorstep.

Antonio Machado: Travellers, there are no paths, paths are made by walking.

Ursula le Guin: It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.

Alfred Kozbyski: The map is not the territory.

Basho: Do not seek to follow in the footsteps of sages; seek what they sought.

