STA44132

Although I quite liked this page as it was, felted and unfelted manos fairtrade yarn bracketing a super soft blue remnant of worsted I was given, with dyed abalone shell, rivets and tile embellishments added to the rivets on the jeans remnant (another gift!) the reverse of the denim had some really ugly seams and labels. So I found some recycled sari yarn in bronze, mmmm, the colour’s a bit off in the photo, it looks brassy gold, it’s darker than that, and stitched it down with beads on the other side to cover my tracks ๐Ÿ˜‰

STA44137STA44141

Then, as I had the charm box out to find a bell…

STA44155

My friend Jennifer lent me a really good book on finding your North Star, your touchstone, a long time ago (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Finding-Your-Own-North-Star/dp/0749924012/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1360357934&sr=1-1) by Martha Beck, and when she was round the other day she admired this spread so I added the charms and the words in her honour! We share a love of integrity in process, the means really matter…also weย  both hate waste and will happily go an extra distance to refuse/reuse/rehouse before we recycle so the completely upcycled components of this section would please her ๐Ÿ˜‰

I did treat myself to some metallic markers at the pound shop though (sorry, not perfect!!) as I want to sashiko dot the dark pages of this book and having tired myself out at art class this morning, I foresee a weekend in bed…which is fine if I have the tools to enjoy myself and finish up another book ๐Ÿ˜‰ I found a large chunk ofย  remnants stitched to a backing in my UFO box (no aliens, just pieces put down that I’m not motivated by any more ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) which would be easy to make into a cover, so suddenly I can see another finish on the horizon…

As we were introducing ourselves at the Nottingham Contemporary ‘Making Art, Making Work’ course, an unexpected commonality emerged: lots of us have had a change of direction recently, some due to work and austerity measures, some personal, but all of us expressing a renewed commitment to finding the positive and creative in our lives. I think it is going to be a lively group with some interesting exchanges ๐Ÿ˜‰ and hopefully we can provide useful friction as well as sharing information and networking. This course is much more about professional development than the one I attended in the autumn, and we will have to work together to arrange a group exhibition, so different approaches will be useful ๐Ÿ™‚

