STA44300

The tete-a-tete daffodils are opening in the tub and I remembered to bring string, so the sweet peas are now supported and a foot higher – less pretty, but more practical as there is going to be a sharp frost tonight…

STA44304

Eventually the sweet peas will be trained round the tripod, and the bulbs can die back in peace. I think the violets will be happy with this as they must be used to thick woodland cover by April.

STA44295

The bellis perennis and violas are happy in their new position, it was cold last night, but they seem fine, it was lovely and sunny when I planted them, but was very overcast today, which is a shame, but you can see how they brighten the border up.

STA44298

The rocks in this rockery really are special…

STA44310

And I love how the ivy is bronzing as it arborealises (?) becomes a tree, see how the leaves are becoming rounder? That means the roots are becoming trunks, and this is when you need to prune if the ivy is strangling a young tree, but these hollies are…very old! I’m not sure what variety they are, but any holly over 30 feet tall is old! The ivy root balls the guys moved for me at the weekend (oh I have some lovely ideas for making them part of a site-specific installation at the exhibition I’m planning πŸ˜‰ ) were taken from the brick wall at the boundary, and would bring it down if left much longer.

STA44311

Remember this little plant growing from a sandstone rock? It’s “just a weed” but it is such a delicate shade of bluey-lilac-green, and the way it is flourishing on that rock is amazing, inspiring…to me anyway πŸ˜‰

Back in October…

STA43282-001

