One of my favourite films is ‘Anne Trister’, by Lea Pool. I first saw it in the 80s, when I could still go the pictures by myself (agoraphobia issues) and shed a few tears, as most of the audience did, I’m sure. There are three main characters, Anne, an artist who can no longer paint after her father dies, who flies to Canada, and meets Alix, a psychotherapist, who had known her father in the desert. Alix works with troubled children, and a little girl comes to her “because she breaks everything” as she says, and we see the two working together to heal her. Anne is given the use of an empty warehouse as a studio, and instead of painting in it, she paints it, creates amazing shadow tracings and pointillist surfaces…lots more happens, but no more spoilers! As the film reaches its climax and through into the end credits the most amazing song played…when the film came on tv, I videoed it and tried to buy the song, but there was nothing at all available by the artist, Danielle Messia, who had by then died of leukaemia.

Meandering round Youtube tonight, I found the song! There are some lovely montages, but I chose this one because it has the lyrics, which are, ahem, French, so I’ll give a little precis: I was always told to use my right hand, and hid my left, but now my left has something to say, to tell you I love you, that I have never fitted in the narrows of straightness and the mainstream, I am of the edges and shadows, but I am not wrong, living under a false identity was the wrongness, and I want to have the right to live as I am and love as I am…it is the most incredible call to truth and integrity and acceptance (sexuality/ability/gender/race/whatever difference the mainstream makes from ‘itself’…) I was delighted to find that in France it is used as a call to honour diversity…I loved the film and if I understand correctly (so not guaranteed!) it can be seen via you tube, I guess because it is not available on video/DVD etc., I’ve  never met anyone who loved it as much as me, and lots of people barely notice the story line with the little girl, but the song really has a lot of fans 😉 Ignore the film reviews, I just read one that got the end completely wrong!!! Mutter, mutter…He was Finnish, but even so, he must have chosen to misunderstand…mutter, mutter…

