SAMSUNGBeen working on something that went off in the post yesterday, which reminded me that I never posted the photo Emilia sent me of of her beautiful elflet wearing the booties I sent off a few weeks ago.

What a bonny bairn! That’s Lowland Scots for handsome child πŸ˜‰ in particularly charming regia blue variegated booties πŸ˜‰ I’m so looking forward to meeting him in the summer…

Closer to home, a significant win was achieved in the monumental struggle for freedom in my studio. Here is PoetrySue modelling 80 LITRES of AIR:

STA44318

that’s not so impressive you say…till you see what these boxes normally hold:

STA44315STA44315-001

– yes, that label really does say flotsam…it was one of the last I packed for moving and things were getting a tad random πŸ˜‰

There is a second label for that crate now, because clearing some flotsam and stashbusting printed pelmet vileneΒ  and felted pages into the handmade books lead to doubling up the mesh/hessian and rug canvas with the hat making stuff…

The empty crate got to be king of the castle for a week, but is now back at the bottom of a pile, with new contents, that were in cardboard boxes, that have now gone to recycling…and there is a pillar of air in the studio much bigger than the crate πŸ˜‰ (can I have an amen, sistahs?!)

Talking to a classmate I have offered some materials to, as he is just starting to use some media and unsure whether to splash out or not (I sound so generous, it’s really a sneaky stash bomb πŸ˜‰ ) he made the observation that he hadn’t realised how important space was for making art. Yes, physical, mental, emotional, spiritual space/permission are all needed, and prioritising yourself to make art when chores, work, children etc call can be harder than it sounds. The good news is that when you do, the rewards are enormous, and only a few minutes a day will build the artmaking habit and your self-esteem with it…

STA43717

Nonie-puss just reminded me that other permission is required too… πŸ˜‰

STA43553

