5 senses: after the home help ๐Ÿ˜‰

STA44508-001

My lovely friend Robyn comes fortnightly to restore cleanliness and order to the flat, and it happened that this visit came straight on top of seeing my therapist for the first time in 6 weeks, as she has just been on an amazing holiday to New Zealand. When Robyn arrived she helped me bring in the Approved Foods delivery and Abel and Cole organic vegetable box delivery…later as I lay drifting off to sleep I felt aware of:

feeling: deeply caring of myself and cared for; being able to acknowledge I am ill and choosing to get the help that works for me; feeling my belly muscles ache as I thought ofย  how Robyn and I had laughed really hard as she hoovered the cobwebs down from the high ceilings and windows (how mad must we have seemed to the next door neighbour looking up at us as he shivered over his cigarette in the garden ๐Ÿ˜‰ ); crisp duvet cover and lovely smooth and fresh fitted sheet; plumped up pillows and fresh pillow cases; lots of room in bed as the work bench detritus of the last fortnight has been cleared off ๐Ÿ˜‰

STA44517

seeing: super clean carpets with half a Nonie-puss removed from them ๐Ÿ˜‰ (Ben from downstairs worked magic on my broken dyson so it now works better than the new vax, which has gone next door to Phil);ย  lieh tzu, mo tzu and old long ears/ lao tzu on the altar all dusted and shiny, re-arranged by me in the morning as I tuned into the snowy spring; white cooker top and shiny chrome taps; the bright blackness of my hoovered laptop ๐Ÿ˜‰ ; a pyramid of mandarins in orange juice cans; tidy pantry shelves with savoury rice, chopped nuts, salty cashews, luxury chocolate and dates from the market stall; cookie ingredients laid out on the counter for tomorrow’s baking to remind me to do it BEFORE I start playing with brusho ๐Ÿ˜‰

smelling: faint tang of diluted lemon cleaner; freshness of the aniseedy agastache on the altar; lemon and camomile shampoo smell on the fresh bedding (I wash out the dregs of the bottle in the washer to get it clean for recycling); some indefinable crispness that means dust and fur has been removed (a whole carrier bag! bless that dyson!!)

hearing: the quietness that means there is snow on the ground outside, but twice as loud because of all the noisy vacuuming and bustle earlier! squeaky wheeze of my lungs from all the dust; happy purring from Nonie as she rolls around on the clean carpets (nooooo!!!)

tasting: the new toothpaste erasing too spicy cous cous; an echo of painkillers and lovely fresh cold water, all the dust stirring makes me thirsty…

I am laughing all over again at this post spotted with smileys like measles ๐Ÿ˜‰

