STA45144

The dog rose is flowering, and the loveliest thing is seeing how many more are to come! There are two dozen buds on that branch alone ๐Ÿ™‚ This bush was drowned in sycamore weedlings before Ben in flat 2 rescued it, and his efforts have been rewarded, out in the sun, the rose has flourished and every branch has clusters of buds! An empty space has been cleared next to it which will be my herb garden.

The bees are very happy, this is another kind of comfrey, not sure which, it’s neither symphytum officinale or bockingii, but the bees don’t care, they love the purple bells almost as much as the foxgloves. I tried to take a photo where the big yellow bloomers of pollen would show, they make me smile, for all I don’t like honey…you can sort of dimly see them, the yellow blurs on his back…

STA45139

And the sound of bees in a garden makes me happy…I’ve been exhausted all week, slept 3 days straight (!) and felt a bit down that I couldn’t hold Emilia’s lovely baby Finn for a proper cuddle: at 5 months he is already too heavy for my cotton wool arms, I would hate to get ‘folding’ wrist and frighten us all ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

So coming out to play in the garden has been very healing. I potted up the tomato plants a lovely volunteer at Nottingham Fixers brought to the stall last weekend and getting my hands covered in soil always helps ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  They look a bit shabby next to Ben’s, but there’s already a tomato ๐Ÿ™‚ and the torn up comfrey leaves will help them catch up..

and at the end is a shot of the dying branches of the horrid laurel, with lots of feverfew and weeds coming through, but with the colours inverted… Picasaย  is such fun to play with, and inspiring – I’m sure I can make something with this ๐Ÿ™‚

STA45141

STA45140STA45151-001

STA45150

