A combination of extra tablets making me sleepy and secret projects makes it look like I’m doing even less than I am, so I’m glad I can post an update including a “now it can be told” ๐Ÿ˜‰

STA45976

Eleanor Burke, who runs Knit Nottingham, has just been nominated for Businesswoman of the Year at the Nottingham Post. This comes on top of winning LYS (local yarn shop) of the Midlands. She truly doesn’t get how remarkable she is, a 22 year old, with a law degree, deciding to get a yarn shop up and running after the ones in the local market foundered. KN just celebrated its 3rd birthday and she was the Midlands host for the Amy Singer tour (a remarkable woman in her own right, she founded knitty.com which has helped lots of young/emerging knit designers build careers) and, Amy said, promoted and organised better than lots of the others (looking at you, London venues who let our lovely Canadian down by cancelling events the DAY before, omg)

So, Verity and I, two customers who have become friends of Eleanor hatched a plot to make her a ‘customer’ award and get the Post to take a photo…they messed up, blew the surprise and printed the story without telling us, one of those things that make you go HMMM… anyway, I’d got it into my head I was going to crochet a tiara! S’ok, Eleanor has a sense of humour! I am here to tell you, tiaras are very hard… after much muttering and with a final ky-bosh of no alice bands in any of the shops I looked, I had to quit that ๐Ÿ˜ฆย  so I regrouped and made the rosette ๐Ÿ˜‰ and this cherry and almond cake…

STA45977

STA45991

*********************************************************************************

You know about the Knitathon, go back one post if that doesn’t include you!

What else to tell you?

A friend is downsizing for moving so I have a huuuge bag of fabric to look through and sort for patchwork/applique/complex cloth and bagmaking, much eye candy in there, I assure you!

STA45979

In other news, I still have peas flowering in October! Whether they will survive the storms this weekend, we shall see… I am writing this in the magic hour between the clocks going back, so perhaps my hopes will have extra strength behind them!

The violets are flowering everywhere I transplanted them, which is lovely, if a trifle disconcerting ๐Ÿ˜‰ and lots of my spring bulbs are sprouting, so I sort of hope the temperature drops to be more appropriate, or they will come on too much and get frosted…though new bulbs are cheaper than heating bills, so perhaps that thought is best buried againย  STA45837๐Ÿ˜‰

STA45833

Pansies are not flowers I was ever very fond of, but I do understand much better why people like them now, their lovely colours brightening the garden as the leaves fall… Jen, the friend who works in Spade and Sparrow has approved my plan for tackling the overgrown and dishevelled rockery, so they will come and work wonders when they have a 2hr slot, which has cheered me up a lot, I really look forward to the times I can get things done, but am so hemmed in by what the fibromyalgia will let me do. The cake and photo op was fun, but I fell asleep Friday night and barely managed to stay awake to let the cat in and out all Saturday ๐Ÿ˜ฆ but I feel hopeful of being more active tomorrow ๐Ÿ˜‰

I have a huge bag of bargains from Approved Foods to take to Quakers to go to the local Food Bank, luckily AF had some really good in-date bargains, 6 boxes of cuppa soups for ยฃ1, pasta, longlife milk and cheap tea bags etc. I find it so sad when i hear that people have to put back food that takes “too long” to cook, I had included some really cheap lentil/dahl mixes, but I wonder if people will be able to use them…surely families will have enough gas to heat up a proper healthy meal, the kitchen gets warm and cosy when you cook a stew, and then the stew keeps you warm from the inside for ages…?ย  I really hope the final signs of corruption (the Royal Mail sell-off kickback to Tory coffers) are the nail in the coffin of re-election for these thieving bullies, and that indignation is high enough to allow the new Government to reverse policies that are killing people by slow starvation or hypothermia, once winter sets in. “Hard times in Old England, very hard times” as we sang with Leon Rosselson and Roy Bailey in the 80s, with no idea that Thatcher would be outclassed for cruelty so quickly…

