The last week has been a lot about this:

– which took a lot of stubborn persistence 😉  I don’t often completely miss it with my art, but after an hour’s filming (thanks Keith!) and more in Picasa editing, I watched my first rough cut and thought…oh dear! That’s so DUUUUULLLL 😦  and promptly edited out the first 4 minutes of 15…then another 3… and then muttered a lot, cos if you’ve edited out HALF the original content, it might (just a thought! duck!!) be worth re-thinking your concept…

IMG_1638-001

I had a day off from it and instead explored quotes about diversity online – there are some really nice ones! Then I decided on my new handle and took another limp at it…and after a lot of swapping and turning things inside out, I feel much happier. It’s now a snappy 4 minutes, and gathers from some people I hadn’t even heard of before, always a joy!  Art making is as much about learning as telling, and that was the problem with the first version I think  😉

If you like it and think it would be useful in diversity awareness, feel free to share it from vimeo or this blog to Facebook etc. It has my watermark in it and credits, so I’m happy about it being used to broaden minds/open boxes.

A lovely quote that didn’t quite fit the brief is from Chief Seattle:

“Humankind has not woven the web of life. We are but one thread within it. Whatever we do to the web, we do to ourselves. All things are bound together. All things connect.”

Chief Seattle (1780-1866);
Leader Of The Suquamish And Duwamish Native American Tribes

and this by Goethe rocked my socks 😉

“Tolerance should really be only a temporary attitude; it must lead to recognition.”

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832);
Philosopher, Scientist, Author

And if anyone is keeping track and wants to know where the waste not, want not post is, this is UPCYCLED! k?

I’m looking forward to sleeping more, then playing with brusho and resting the RSI from editing – think more, edit less!

