I was really tempted to call this post loudest whispers, quietest screams…talk about suffering for your art šŸ™‚

DSC_0038-001

DSC_0038

So, I went to London last Monday to supervise Sea Change being installed at St Pancras Conference Centre Gallery… due to the curator being 45 minutes late, the previous artwork still being up and the curator needing to see the work hung a few ways, sad disaster has occurred. Sea Change is up in an improvised space, and I hope will stay up till March 28th, with Diversity is our Strength being shown in the foyer slot earmarked for Sea Change.

DSC_0039-001

In helping install it 3 times in 1 1/2 hours (Jen did the lion’s share) I wrecked myself, with the coup de grace being run-limping for the train, they had already shut the doors on the train!

DSC_0044

Luckily we got let into First Class and I staggered down to our booked seats, Jen making 2 trips after me with rollator and bags.

Since then I have been all systems down, my arms barely move, my hands hurt like blazes, my legs were shaking and spasming, I have a mystery muscle tear bruise on my left leg… I was terrified on the limp to the train my right leg would cramp and collapse, but I really didn’t have Ā£120 for new tickets.

DSC_0042Of course I really don’t have a new body available either… šŸ˜¦

I have had to recognize I won’t be able to go back on Friday and hang the Valentine piece or do the Same But Different fibretagging in London. Wow, this is such a huge thing for me, you can’t imagine, unless you are also a powerhouse who sweeps on through against the odds and snatches victory from the jaws of defeat type…My body just can NOT rise to this one…

 

UPDATE:Ā  opened my email box to find this, which makes me feel so much better šŸ˜‰

WE ARE THRILLED WITH YOUR WORK AND THE diversity INSTALLATION IS TAKING SHAPE WITH A BOLD USE OF A GLASS CABINET WITH THE WORK FLOWING OUT AND AROUND THE GLASS UP TO THE RAIL ABOVE THE WINDOW,. We think it looks exciting. Lots of fantastic comments about the SEA work…

– excellent!

So, what do you do with dozens of hearts and frustrated creative energy?

DSC_0052

Think up alternatives! Elizabeth and Eleanor listened and laughed on Thursday and I felt better after that, then after a heated exchange on facebook last night (someone on the internet was WRONG! my, I amaze you šŸ˜‰ ) the little contribution I was making to the local ATOS demo has grown a bit… Someone asked Eleanor if they could be put in touch with a yarn activist, so fingers crossed, I can get filmed making a piece to support the ATOS protests šŸ˜‰

Win! šŸ˜‰

